FAW Awards Evening 2014

The annual FAW awards dinner took place this evening at Cardiff’s St. Davids Hotel, where Gareth Bale set a new record after being voted the FA of Wales player of the year for the fourth time, overtaking both Mark Hughes and John Hartson who each won the award three times. The Real Madrid midfielder has now been the recipient of the award four times in the past five years.

Bale has been a consistent performer for Wales, netting 10 times in his last 11 internationals. He also received the Vauxhall Fans Player of the Year trophy for the fourth year in succession.

Gareth Bale wins the Vauxhall Fans’ Player of the Year

Ben Davies was the recipient of the Young Player of the Year award, while his former Swansea team-mate Ashley Williams was once again voted Club Player of the Year.

Ashley Williams and Gareth Bale win the Wales Club Player of the Year and Player of the Year respectively

There was also special recognition for former Wales and Everton captain Kevin Ratcliffe who received a long service award.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s